When we released support for domain-wide data retention rules in December, we ensured any deleted file could be recovered until the retention period expired by preventing the delete of that file’s folder. This was a simple approach that worked well in most cases but made it difficult for non-administrative users to fully control emptied folders.
With last night’s update we’ve resolved that inconvenience through the introduction of a “Trash Bin” to which deleted folders with deleted but unexpired (unpurged) files are automatically moved. The Trash Bin holds these deleted folders so that their deleted files may be recovered subject to the Domain’s data retention policy - but allows non-administrative uses to cleanup unwanted folders from those folders they control.
As always, we welcome your comments regarding this or any feature of our service. Please reach out with your feedback!